International Disarmament Institute News

Other UK, US and French Pacific Territories

Back to Pacific Nuclear Test Archive Contents Page

American Samoa (Non-Self-Governing Territory administered by the US); Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Non-Self-Governing Territory administered by the UK); and Wallis and Futuna/Uvea mo Futuna (French Territory) are located in the South Pacific but were not included in the New Zealand Fallout Monitoring System. However, they lie in the vicinity of countries that were included, where fallout from French Pacific nuclear weapons tests was detected. It is thus quite possible that they also received fallout. For our reports on these territories, click on the links in the first sentence of this paragraph. For details on the New Zealand Fallout Monitoring System and the radioactive contamination it detected throughout the South Pacific, click here.

Skip to toolbar